New Nokia phone launch: How to watch it and what to expect

Nokia couldn’t present its new phones at Mobile World Congress as it didn’t happen because of you-know-what and so there is a replacement event happening on 19 March.

While journalists were originally invited to an actual event in London to see the phones, it has now been switched over to be an exclusively online event – see below for more details. 

We don’t have the full picture about what will be launched, but we do know that Nokia will use the event to launch its first 5G phone which also features in the now postponed James Bond film No Time To Die. The event is titled “Unveiling the new chapter for Nokia phones” which alludes a little to the next generation of mobile which is, of course, 5G. 

We’ve collected all the details floating around about the launch for you here, including when and where it’s happening, and how you can watch it. 

When is the Nokia launch?

The launch event is happening on 19 March at 4pm GMT. Some local times are as follows:

  • US East Coast: 12pm EDT
  • US West Coast: 9am PDT
  • UK: 5pm BST
  • New Delhi, India: 9.30pm IST
  • Beijing, China: 12am CST
  • Sydney, Australia: 3am AEST

We don’t know how long the event will last, but that starting time is official – physical attendees are being asked to turn up from 4pm. 

Can I watch it online?

The good news is that Nokia will have a live stream on YouTube where you can watch the launch as it happens. The link currently goes to Nokia’s December launch video, but that will be changed.

It’s also using the hashtag #Nokiamobilelive to talk about the announcement on Twitter, so be sure to check that hashtag out around the time of the live stream to see what people are saying and if any more details have yet dropped. 

What are we expecting?

 

As mentioned we know that a 5G phone will be revealed at the launch. Nokia is a long-term Qualcomm partner, so we’re expecting it to use Qualcomm’s latest-generation Snapdragon 865 platform. 

However, that would make it a flagship device and there has also been chatter about a mid-range 5G phone using the Qualcomm Snapdragon 765 platform. 

  • Confirmed: Nokia 5G phone will be launched on 19 March

Rumours have pointed to the Nokia 8.2 as being the name for the 5G phone for a while – that or the Nokia 8.3. 

We are also expecting something to launch known as either Nokia 5.2 or Nokia 5.3. This probably won’t be the 5G phone but it is possible – although the 5.x phones have been fairly budget-orientated so far. 

This phone is reported to have a quad-camera system with a 16-megapixel main lens, plus a 5-megapixel and two 8-megapixel cameras. We’ll have to wait and see what’s actually launch and what functions they offer. 

  • Nokia 5.3 packs in a quad-camera to excite the mid-range, according to leaks

Comments are closed.